The Herb Diaries

The Herb Diaries has reclocated to www.theherbdiaries.com no new recipes will be posted here

Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

Leave a comment

IMG_1236IMG_1238

Since I have started taking more notice of what I eat, I have become much more aware of the list of ingredients on the packaging of most things we buy. More often than not, after the obvious components of the product, there will be a number of things you’ve never heard of and probably can’t even pronounce. I have read that not all of these additives are bad, and some E numbers are actually naturally occurring colours, but since I don’t have the knowledge yet to distinguish the good and the bad, I figured the safest option was to avoid any of these mystery ingredients.

One of my favourite things to eat is hummus, and I’m not sure I can name a single person I know who does not share my love! The hummus available in the shops is good, but I had never realised how quick and easy it was to make. There are very few ingredients, you can  mix it up and make whatever flavour you want, and I MUCH prefer it to the shop bought stuff. By making it yourself, you stay clear of any additive or preservative.

Chickpeas are high in protein, which is great for non meat-eaters. Whilst they aren’t exactly a superfood, they contain a wide range of vitamins and minerals, and keep you feeling full for longer, which helps curb your mid-afternoon munchies.

You could use a range of things to flavour your hummus. Sun dried tomatoes are my favourite at the moment, but fresh coriander and a squeeze of lemon, or fresh spicy chillis are delicious variations. Most people use tahini in their hummus, and I usually would, but I couldn’t get hold of any so decided to try it with sesame seeds instead.

IMG_1241IMG_1244

Ingredients:

2 cups chickpeas

6 sun dried tomatoes

1/2 cup sesame seeds

Juice of one lemon

Pinch of salt

1 clove garlic

Olive oil (I used rosemary infused)

Dash of sesame oil (optional, for flavour)

Method:

Put all ingredients (other than the oil) into a blender. Slowly add Olive oil until you reach your desired consistency, then blend for a few more minutes until completely smooth.

IMG_1246IMG_1248

Leave a Reply

