The Herb Diaries

The Herb Diaries has reclocated to www.theherbdiaries.com no new recipes will be posted here

Raspberry Elderflower Mojito

Leave a comment

Image

I haven’t yet come across a health blog with alcoholic drinks on it…. but the beauty of the Flexitarian diet is that the rules can be bent! We’ve had such gorgeous weather recently and I wanted to make something refreshing (but a little bit naughty) to enjoy on these long summer evenings.

I was at a friends house last week, and she had the most incredible veg patch. Her strawberry and raspberry bushes were even more impressive! I got picking and had filled two big boxes in no time, and she said they are growing so quickly that they have to pick that many every day. I was so sad not to have my camera on me as they were the biggest, brightest strawberries I have ever seen. So I felt like I needed to think of something fresh and exciting to do with all these berries!

I made this drink for my sister last weekend, and it went down a treat! She sipped them down whilst my brother in law nailed a whole bowl of my sun-dried tomato hummus. They said they were pretty impressed with my asian style-salad too, so maybe that will have to be the recipe for my next post!

Ingredients:

(serves 2)

16 raspberries

12 mint leaves

Elderflower Cordial (I used homemade)

Vodka (Gin or Rum could be used if you prefer)

Sparkling water

Lots of crushed ice

Image

Method:

Crush raspberries and mint in a pestle and mortar. Pour a measure (or more!) of vodka into each glass, along with a glug of elderflower cordial (amount depends on how sweet you like your drinks). Fill with crushed ice, the raspberry/mint mix and top up with sparkling water. Serve in the sunshine! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

