The Herb Diaries

The Herb Diaries has reclocated to www.theherbdiaries.com no new recipes will be posted here

Asian Almond Soup

Leave a comment

20130919-205255.jpg

Just a very short post today, and because I am very busy at the moment I thought I should share with you one of my quick, mid-week go to suppers. It is warm, filling and so cleansing. I adore the spice and heat of Asian ingredients, they always taste so fresh.

I just bought myself the biggest jar of almond butter I have ever seen and I am obsessed. I have been putting it on my smoothie, stirring it into my soup, mixing into my puddings and eating it with anything I can dip into it: carrots, apple, celery, a spoon…

20130919-205859.jpg

I only add the vegetables in at the end just to cook them slightly, because the crunch contrasts so well with the rich creamy sauce. You can of course change the ratio and add more water and less coconut milk make it lighter, and I often stir through some spinach and rice noodles when I am hungrier.

Coconut milk is so versatile and surprisingly good for you. It contains a lot of magnesium which normalises blood pressure and calms nerves. It is also said to lower cholesterol and improve skin elasticity (reducing wrinkles) among many other health benefits.

Ginger helps your body absorb essential nutrients as well as really helping feelings of nausea and tummy pain. I love to drink a mug of hot water with a slice of lemon and a chunk of ginger after a big meal. It tastes so fresh and pure, and is a very good way to hydrate for people who don’t drink enough water .

20130919-211250.jpg

Ingredients:

Serves 2

2 Cloves of garlic

A knob of ginger

Fresh chilli

1 tbsp almond butter

2 cups coconut milk

2 cups mushrooms

1 big tomato

1 courgette

Splash of soy sauce and a squeeze of lemon to season

Basil

20130919-211626.jpg

Method:

Boil the kettle and add two cups of hot water to a saucepan. Finely chop the chilli, garlic and ginger and add to the water. Chop all the veg and after a few minutes add all other ingredients to the saucepan. Cook into the veg are warmed through but still have some bite, then take off the heat, pour into two bowls, top with torn basil and serve.

20130919-212139.jpg

Leave a Reply

